Adding a friend means you may see each other’s activity in News Feed, Stories and Photos. … You can control who can friend and follow you by editing your privacy settings. If you don’t want someone to see you on Facebook, learn how to unfriend or block them.
What does it mean when add friend is not an option on Facebook?
The profile owner might have put their setting of “Who can contact me” as “Friends of friends,” and you both have not any mutual friends. The person might have blocked and then unblocked you or just denied your request, which can cause the issue that you see no add friend button on their profile anymore.
What happens when you hit add friend on Facebook?
Once they confirm that they actually are friends with you, they show up on your list of Facebook friends. You receive a notification after they accept your friend request. Privacy settings might limit your ability to see the Add Friend link for some users.
If you don’t see the “Add as Friend” button, it’s because the person you’re trying to befriend has adjusted her privacy settings to block friend requests (see Chapter 14 for details).
How can I tell if someone denied my friend request on Facebook?
Look at the gray button next to the person’s name. If the button reads “Friend Request Sent,” the person has not yet accepted or declined your friend request. If the button reads “+1 Add Friend,” the person denied your friendship request.
You already sent a friend request, and it’s either still pending or the recipient deleted it. Now the Add Friend button doesn’t show up, so you can’t send a new friend request. If your request was deleted, Facebook has blocked you from sending that person another friend request for one whole year.
How can you tell if someone blocked you on Facebook?
To check if someone has blocked you on Facebook Messenger, try sending a message to their profile. If you get an error message that reads “This person isn’t available at the moment,” then the person has either blocked you or deactivated their account.
What does it mean when you send a friend request on Facebook and it says message?
If it says “friend request sent” and “message” on the person’s profile, then the person has yet to decide. If it says “message” only, then the person has said both “not now” AND “Mark as spam” to the request.
How do I know if I accidentally sent a friend request?
Click the View All button near the bottom of the list. Then at the top of the page, you should see a link to View Sent Requests – just below the title of the page. Click that and you’ll see a list of all the people you’ve sent friend requests to that still haven’t been accepted.
How do I know if someone deleted my friend request?
Step 4 – Once you open the ‘Sent Requests’ page, you will be able to see all the people who have not yet accepted your request and if their name doesn’t appear in this list that means they must have deleted your friend request.
When you send a friend request what can they see?
When someone sends you a friend request, they may see public posts about you (example: stories you posted with the privacy set to Public or posts you’re tagged in that have the privacy set to Public) in News Feed or search results.