If you deactivate your account, we save the information in your account (ex: friends, photos, interests), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your profile will be there when you come back.
Can you deactivate your Facebook account without losing everything?
Once you’ve downloaded your Facebook data safely onto your hard drive and found ways to log out of third-party apps without losing information, you can delete your Facebook account. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column, then choose Deactivation and Deletion.
Will I lose all my friends if I deactivate my Facebook?
Merely deactivating your Facebook is far less of a commitment than impulsively deleting your account, and losing all your photos, friends, and other virtual memories permanently. … Your profile will be entirely restored upon logging back into Facebook or using your account information to log into another site.
What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?
If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others. Any comments that you’ve made on other person’s profile will remain.
What happens if you deactivate your Facebook account for too long?
Facebook Users Can Deactivate or Permanently Delete Accounts
If a user decides to deactivate an account, the profile information is no longer available on Facebook, but the site still saves all of the information in case the user returns. “We preserve the account in its entirety.
How long can you temporarily deactivate Facebook?
Facebook Help Team
You can deactivate your account for more than 15 days. The only way your account will be deleted is if you choose to permanently delete it.
How do I deactivate my Facebook but keep my pictures?
Select Settings and Privacy, then click Settings. In the side menu, click Your Facebook Information. Select Deactivation and Deletion. Choose the Deletion option and then hit Continue to Account Deletion.
Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?
You can reactivate your Facebook account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. Remember that you’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in. If you can’t remember your password, you can request a new one.
Can someone message me on Facebook when I deactivate?
You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you. Download the Messenger mobile app if you don’t already have it.
Is coming off Facebook a good idea?
One study found that “participants who used Facebook most often had poorer trait self-esteem, and this was mediated by greater exposure to upward social comparisons on social media”. … Therefore, if you want to raise your self-esteem, quitting Facebook may be a good idea.
Why can I still see my deactivated Facebook?
Since deactivation is designed to be temporary, the information is in stasis and available if you decide to reactivate your Facebook account. All your photos, timeline information, friends, comments and preferences are saved for the day you decide to reactivate your account by logging back in.
What happens when you deactivate your FB account?
Deleting your Facebook account
When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. However, it is possible to delete your account permanently with no option for recovery.