Introduced as an anti-bullying feature, Instagram’s Restrict function gives you more control over what comments both you and your followers see on your posts by limiting what restricted accounts can post on your profile. When you restrict someone, their comments and messages will be hidden from your profile.
What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram?
If you restrict someone: They won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve read their messages. Their new comments on your posts will only be visible to that person, and you can choose to see the comment by tapping See Comment.
What is the difference between blocking and restricting Instagram?
When you designate someone as “restricted,” their comments are only visible to you and them unless they are approved. But unlike blocking, the person who is restricted won’t have any indication that their comments are being screened (unless they have a finsta or some other way to view a post from another account).
Can you stop someone from seeing your Instagram posts without blocking?
If you want to prevent someone from seeing anything you post to your story in the future, simply head to your profile and open your account settings. Next, tap Privacy. And then Story. Tap the number of people next to Hide Story From.
What happens when you restrict an account?
Restrict accounts is one such option that allows you to limit what people can post on your profile. — Users have control if others can see comments on their posts, their chat will move to your Message requests, so they will not see when you read it.
Can people restrict Instagram?
As explained by Instagram: “You can restrict someone by swiping left on a comment, through the Privacy tab in Settings, or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict. Once Restrict is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person.
Can you hide comments from someone on Instagram?
Press the person icon at the bottom-right corner of the page to navigate to your profile. Press the three horizontal lines at the top-right corner of the page. Navigate to Settings > Privacy > Comments. Press the Hide Offensive Comments toggle.
When you restrict someone on Instagram do they unfollow you?
Does blocking someone make them unfollow you? Yes. When you block someone on Instagram, it automatically removes them from your followers and prevents you from following them.
Why am I suddenly Unfollowing on Instagram?
Instagram works off a follower mechanic. Once you create a profile, you can follow what other people post by “following” them. You often follow friends, family, or other people who inspire and influence you. When you unfollow someone, you’re essentially saying that “you do not want to see what they post anymore.”