Deactivating your Facebook account does NOT deactivate Facebook Messenger. … If you delete Facebook you’re permanently removing your data. However, you might not realize that deactivating your Facebook account does not deactivate Facebook Messenger. People will still be able to see you and can attempt to contact you.
What happens to Messenger when you delete Facebook?
You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you. Download the Messenger mobile app if you don’t already have it.
How do you delete Facebook but keep Messenger?
Here’s how to deactivate your Facebook account but keep using Messenger:
- Open the Facebook website and log in to your account.
- Go to Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
- Choose Your Facebook Information, then click Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select Deactivate Account, then Continue to Account Deactivation.
Why does it take 30 days to delete Facebook?
Facebook has given users many reasons to consider nuking their accounts lately from data breaches to scandals surrounding election interference. Now the app, known for keeping people connected, is increasing the amount of time it takes for main profiles to be permanently deleted.
What do my friends see when I delete my Facebook account?
If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others. Any comments that you’ve made on other person’s profile will remain.
What happens when you deactivate Messenger?
What happens after the deactivation process? You will be invisible in the Messenger app. No one will be seeing your profile in the app. No one will be able to communicate with you.
When you deactivate Messenger do your messages disappear?
3 Answers. You actually deactivate it, and once you do that all your comments, likes, shares, post and everything associated with your profile disappears like it never existed. But your message conversation will still be visible on your friend’s inbox just there won’t be your profile picture and link to it.
How can I deactivate my Facebook account without Messenger 2021?
On the Facebook app, tap the hamburger menu icon on the rightmost portion of the screen and then scroll down and tap “Settings & Privacy.” Select “Settings.” Scroll down and choose “Account Ownership and Control.” It’s under the section called “Your Facebook Information.” Select “Deactivation and Deletion.”
How do I permanently delete my Facebook messages on both sides?
Steps to Delete Facebook Messages From Both Sides
- On your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.
- Then select Remove.
- Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for.
- Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.
Can you permanently delete Facebook messages?
To permanently delete a message, you’ll select the messages to be deleted and then tap on Remove for Everyone in the message options. The removed message will be replaced by an alert telling everyone in the chat that it’s been deleted. This works in groups as well as one-on-one conversations.
Do I have to wait 30 days to delete Facebook?
And that’s it! If you wish to cancel the deletion, you have 30 days to log into your account and click on Cancel Deletion. Otherwise, you just need to be patient for a month, before your Facebook account is permanently erased.