How do I deactivate my Facebook account without losing everything?

Select Settings & Privacy > Settings. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column, then choose Deactivation and Deletion. Select Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion. Click Delete Account, enter your password, then click Continue.

Can I deactivate my Facebook without losing everything?

Deactivating your account does not fully delete it. When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. … To delete your Facebook account, follow this link to the Delete My Account page.

Is it better to deactivate or delete Facebook?

The biggest difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account is that deactivating your Facebook account gives you the flexibility to return whenever you wish, while deleting your account is a permanent action.

How do I temporarily disable Facebook?

Tap or click your profile picture in the top right and select Profile, then select Edit Profile. Scroll down, then tap or click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can a Facebook page see who views it?

What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?

If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others. Any comments that you’ve made on other person’s profile will remain.

Do you lose your photos if you deactivate Facebook?

If you deactivate your account, we save the information in your account (ex: friends, photos, interests), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your profile will be there when you come back.

How do I deactivate my Facebook but keep my pictures?

Select Settings and Privacy, then click Settings. In the side menu, click Your Facebook Information. Select Deactivation and Deletion. Choose the Deletion option and then hit Continue to Account Deletion.

What is the difference between deactivate and delete Facebook account?

Deactivating or deleting your Facebook account: what’s the difference? When you deactivate your Facebook, most of your information is hidden, but you can go back reactivate your account whenever you want to. When you delete your Facebook, your account is gone, and you cannot recover it.

Will deleting Facebook delete everything?

What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account? Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added. You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: When I try to login to twitter it says account already exists?

Is deactivating Facebook a good idea?

Because social media is so addictive, researchers had to regularly check that their Facebook accounts remained deactivated. … In short, go ahead and deactivate Facebook even if it’s just for a few weeks. It really could improve your mental health.

How long can you deactivate Facebook?

Facebook Help Team

You can deactivate your account for more than 15 days. The only way your account will be deleted is if you choose to permanently delete it.

Can I deactivate Facebook and still use Messenger?

If you’ve deactivated your account and you use Messenger, it doesn’t reactivate your Facebook account. Your friends will only be able to contact you via the Messenger app or the chat window in Facebook. … Download Facebook Messenger on iOS, Android, or Windows Phone.