Frequent question: Does blocking someone on Instagram delete messages?

No. Blocking a person hides your personal chat threads from each other in DMs. Meaning, the thread will disappear, and you won’t be able to view the messages (until you unblock them).

Can a blocked person still be able to see past conversations?

Although they can’t message your after you block them, you’ll still be able to see past conversations unless you delete them. Experts say that if you are being bullied or harassed online it can be best to keep evidence for official reports.

Do messages get deleted when you block someone?

When you block a contact, their texts go nowhere. The person whose number you’ve blocked won’t receive any sign that their message to you was blocked; their text will simply sit there looking as though it were sent and not yet delivered, but in fact, it will be lost to the ether.

When you unblock someone on Instagram do the messages come back?

When you unblock someone, they will be able to view your posts and stories, find you again, and send you messages. They will not automatically follow you again though, so you will need to notify them if you want them to do so.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you see old secret conversations on Facebook?

Do blocked messages get delivered when unblocked?

No. The ones sent when they are blocked are gone. If you unblock them, you will receive the first time they send something once they are unblocked. While blocked the messages are not held in a queue.

Can I see him online if he blocked me?

You can no longer see a contact’s last seen or online in the chat window. Learn more here. You do not see updates to a contact’s profile photo. Any messages sent to a contact who has blocked you will always show one check mark (message sent), and never show a second check mark (message delivered).

What does the other person see when you block them on Instagram?

When you block someone from the Instagram app, you’ll have the option to block their account, or to block their account and new accounts they may create. People aren’t notified when you block them. After you block someone, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos.

What happens to messages when someone blocks you?

If an Android user has blocked you, Lavelle says, “your text messages will go through as usual; they just won’t be delivered to the Android user.” It’s the same as an iPhone, but without the “delivered” notification (or lack thereof) to clue you in.

What happens to the messages when you block someone on Instagram?

The only evidence of your virtual relationship that will remain after you block someone on Instagram is your direct messages. Message threads will remain in your Direct inbox and in the inbox of the person you blocked, but they won’t be able to send new messages to you.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is my Instagram video glitch?

What happens if you block someone on Instagram then unblock them?

If they didn’t notice that you blocked them, they may never realize that you unblocked them later. Blocking someone on Instagram causes them to unfollow you, so when you unblock that person, they still won’t be following you.

How long after you unblock someone on Instagram can you block them again?

Unlike Facebook, Instagram has one of the less restrictive rules when it comes to blocking someone. When you have unblocked someone on Facebook and decided to block them, you will need to wait for 48 hours before blocking them again.